Coiste Toghlaigh um Parlaimint na hEorpa

Seomra 1.65

Room 1.65

Teach An Chustaim

Custom House

Baile Átha Cliath 1

Dublin 1

Tel: 01 888 2769

Email: europarlconstituencies@housing.gov.ie

European Parliament Constituency Committee

Fax: 01 888 2690

Website: www.constituency-commission.ie

REPORT ON EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT CONSTITUENCIES 2018

European Parliament Constituency Committee

The European Parliament Constituency Committee today (24 September 2018) presented its report on European Parliament constituencies to the Chairman of Dáil Éireann.

The members of the Committee were: Mr. Justice Robert Haughton (Chairman); Mr. Peter Finnegan, Clerk of the Dáil; Mr. Martin Groves, Clerk of the Seanad; Mr. John McCarthy, Secretary General of the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government and Mr. Peter Tyndall, Ombudsman. The Committee was established on 24 July 2018, and was required to make a report on European constituencies following on from the decision of the European Council on 28 June 2018 establishing the composition of the European Parliament. The number of members to be elected from Ireland for the 2019-2024 Parliamentary term will be 13, an increase of 2 on the present number.

In preparing its report, the Committee held a public consultation and took account of the 20 submissions made to it over the course of the consultative process.

European Parliament Constituencies

The Committee recommends that the State be divided into the following three constituencies for the election in Ireland of 13 members of the European Parliament.

A 4-seat 'Dublin' constituency comprising the counties of: Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin; and the city of Dublin.

A 4-seat 'Midlands-North-West' constituency comprising the counties of: Cavan, Donegal, Galway, Kildare, Leitrim, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Roscommon, Sligo

and Westmeath; and the city of Galway.

A 5-seat 'South' constituency comprising the counties of: Carlow, Clare, Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Laois, Offaly, Tipperary, Wexford and Wicklow; the cities and counties of

Limerick and Waterford; and the city of Cork.

The report may be purchased from the Government Publications Sale Office. It is also

available on the website: www.constituency-commission.ie.

European Parliament Constituency Committee

Custom House

Dublin 1

D01 W6X0

24 September 2018

Ends.